Like little children

Posted: May 21, 2012 in Reflections

I have a three year old daughter who is sometimes cute, kind, sweet, innocent and cuddly and I just want to hug her. Sometimes she is clingy, noisy, and rude and throws a tantrum when she doesn’t get her way.  There are days when she’s tearful for no reason at all while on other days there is this burst of energy and excitement that I fail to comprehend. My daughter sings at the top of her voice as she marches around the house banging bits of broken toys and empty containers together totally making a joyful noise unto the Lord. She runs from her bedroom when she hears my voice in the hallway or at the door when I come in from an outing and I’m thinking how long that distance must be when you are that age because it’s so much faster to run. Little arms wrap round my neck and milk white teeth melt my heart on most days, yet mischievous smiles and sullen frowns are common on others. The simple joy of being alive; lies in her laughter and I’m forced to learn to relax when dancing round in crazy circles as we both recite a nursery rhyme.

Sometimes life winds me up and I end up yelling at my daughter even when I don’t mean to. I can’t help but think of all the impossible things I still have to do before the day ends. Life is so much simpler when you are a child. The only basic worry is how to spend the twenty four hours in the day and the basic need is food.  My daughter is angry with me when I spank her or refuse her a treat as punishment for being naughty. But it’s never for more than a moment, for the anger is forgotten and the next minute she is back enfolded in my arms seeking comfort from some scary thing or loving arms to rock to sleep in. It’s in these moments of life that I realize there is nothing God loves more than a child.

God expects us to receive His kingdom much as a child would, his promise to come back for us much as a child waiting for a parent after school would. He gave us children to help us learn to live. He pointed them out to us to teach us how to love. Their trust is amazingly without reservation and they are unable to bear a grudge. I often smile when I hold my daughter after I’ve scolded her; she reminds me of whom God expects me to be. I just can’t help but love her and that is exactly how God views me.

Leave a Reply

