The Friendship Diaries (Excerpt)

Posted: May 25, 2012 in Novel excerpts

Tunde

I was right in the middle of a music video. The guitars were blasting, the drums were rolling and the lead vocal, me, was having a great time in front of an appreciative audience when the loud, sharp banging on my open door brought me down, right back to earth.

“Tunde! Will you turn the music down, I can’t hear myself think.”

I turn around guiltily as my sister walks into my room, heels clicking and switches off the DVD player. “That was Steven Curtis Chapman.” I say to her defensively. “I mean don’t you appreciate good music?”

“I do.” She turns around with a snarl. “…when it’s not blocking my ear drums!”

“Ooooohhhh!” I reply with the impudence of a younger brother. “Feisty aren’t  we!”

“One day you are going to end up with an earache.” She storms out of the room.

“You are ruining my creativity” I shout back as I paint blue streaks across the canvas. “I need the music to concentrate.”

“We are having a new roommate.” My sister was coming back. I opened my mouth and hung my head, ‘Not again!’ I think groaning inwardly. She had picked up my shoes from yesterday as well as a hair brush and dirty socks from the living room. “You need to be less noisy, less untidy and more considerate of people’s feelings. Also, you can’t walk around the house half naked, put a shirt on.” She grabs one from a pile of clean laundry in a basket in the corner of the room and throws it at me. I ignore the shirt and keep painting. “Temi is arriving this afternoon and we just need to act like a pair of civilized human beings.”

“With you around, who needs mum?” I mutter under my breath.

“What did you say?” She wipes round with a frown.

“Nothing!”

Through the corner of my eye, I could see her shake her head. “Sometimes it’s hard to believe we are peas from the same pod.”

I smile. Even though I’m twenty seven years old, my sister still feels she needs to take care of me because according to her, I’m reckless, immature and undisciplined. This is despite the fact that I earn a six digit salary and have a respectable job as a graphic artist at a very large, well known advertising company. She’s my twin sister and she never lets me forget that she’s the older one by five minutes.

DELE

“Hi!” I stammered. “I did not bother to call because I wanted to surprise you.”

“Well you certainly did.” He was bare chest, wearing only trousers and a pair of slippers. He held the door slightly ajar and blocked the entrance with his body. I sensed something was up but chose to ignore my feelings.

“Can I come in?” I asked the question apprehensively and wondered to myself why I had bothered to come back to the same place where temptation had over taken him. Seeing him half dressed made me realize that that was a mistake.

He sighed. “This is not a good idea, why don’t we meet downstairs in the lobby where it’s safe and I will not attack you like I did the other day.”

“I guess I didn’t think that way.” I wondered why he wasn’t opening the door any further.

“You should have called at the reception. I’d have told you to wait down stairs.”

“Why, do you have company?” I instinctively tried to peep over his shoulder.

He laughed and stepped back still keeping the door only slightly ajar. “I don’t want you to come in as I’m half dressed. Just wait for me downstairs.”

He was acting a little strange as well as fidgeting and avoiding my eyes. I was about to turn and leave when on impulse, I barged open the door and stormed inside.

“Dele!” he shouted but it was already too late. I saw the lady half clad and covered with the bed spreads.

“Oh!” I said. “Sorry, I didn’t know you had company. I’ll just leave.”

“Wait, I can explain…”

I was already walking out into the hallway, tears blurring my vision. He caught me before I reached the stairs and spun me around.

“Dele, please try to understand, I didn’t mean for this to happen.”

“Understand what?” I was angry. “We’ve not even officially broken up and already you‘ve replaced me!”

“Look…”

“I understand enough, you’ve found the girl that can meet those lustful needs of yours, you don’t need me!”

He stood and placed his hands on his hips watching me rant.

“Why am I even angry? You are not worth it.” I turned and marched down the stairs. In my anger I had forgotten there was an elevator so I walked down four flights of stairs, wondering when it would all end and I would be out of the hotel.

I marched stiffly high heels and all till I got to my car. My hands trembled as I tried over and over again to insert the key into the car door. My phone rang just then,it was Doyin.

“What do you want?” I barked into the receiver as I flipped open the phone and turned to put my back against the car.

“Look, I messed up big time. Come back and let’s talk about this.”

“What…with your girlfriend in the room?”

“I’ll meet you downstairs and we’ll talk about it.”

“So you are not even going to send her away”

“Dele, I can’t just do that.”

“Oh, so she means that much to you.”

“She doesn’t mean anything to me!” he replied angrily.

“You are just a liar… I hate you!” I burst into soft tears. “You are just like the rest of them. All men are liars…”

“Dele…” His voice was soft on the other end of the phone.

I sniffed and wiped a tear from my eye. “Who is she?”

“Someone you don’t know.” He replied in a low voice.

I just sobbed into the phone. “I never believed you could do this to me, how long have you been seeing her?”

“I’ve not been seeing her! I was just under a lot of pressure and I needed to ease the tension.”

“So you can just sleep with anybody, is that what you’re telling me?”I closed my eyes as the tears streamed down my face.  “You didn’t even wait till we settled this. Doyin how could you?”

“Dele, come back inside….”

“No!” I closed the phone and sobbed into my hands as I slid down to the floor with my back against my car door.

 

Leave a Reply

